Pages

Nanny Routine So Far

One of the reasons that I like to be a nanny is that I feel like it provides me with a glimpse into motherhood, so when that day comes I'm not too overwhelmed.

So far, our summer schedule looks like this:

7:30 Breakfast
8:00 Brush Teeth and Hair, Change Clothes, Make Beds
8:30 Play time while I eat my breakfast and plan/get ready for the day
9:00 First outing (changes every day)
12:00 Lunch prep/serve lunch
1:00 Reading Time
1:30 Quiet Time/Nap Time/MY Netflix and reading time
2:30 End Quiet Time (because one of the girls got out of school just this week, I'm not sure what I'm going to do with her once her quiet time is over, but I'm thinking we'll work on some schoolwork type things for avoiding regression)
3:00-3:30 TV shows (I have been allowing 2 shows a day, or one movie. They don't care too much for being on a tablet or computer.)
4:00-4:30 Outside time/craft time/pool time once it gets warmer
6:00 I get to go home!

It is honestly so much easier than my first position, even if the hours are longer. I think that all that comes from experience and knowing that it is not my job to keep them 100% entertained throughout the summer, which was very stressful to me several years ago. I like how this summer is looking AND now there are all kinds of local programs to keep them involved!

Summer 2016 Life Update

To anyone who may be reading this. Wow, I'm so surprised! It has been nearly a year since I updated my blog, all the way in Uganda! Uganda was definitely my favorite part of the whole Africa trip.

Since Africa, a whole lot has happened. I finished my Junior year at UWEC, this time without any extracurriculars. However, I think that this was a good thing to keep out of because my GPA has recovered from some not so great math scores from a couple semesters ago. I got accepted into the School of Education and will have three more semesters of school left, including student teaching and my methods courses beginning in the fall.

I am still working at Target. It has definitely become more than a seasonal job, but a job is a job and for a couple more months I think I can manage. I'm thankful to my parents for letting me live with them and use their cars, so my expenses are pretty minimal with the small income that I do have. This summer, I am spending every other week as a nanny for a new family, this position will hopefully continue during the school year for a couple hours after school. I'm actually writing this while the girls are watching a Barbie movie downstairs (don't worry, we've done a lot of reading and crafts as well).

On a personal level, I don't think I've shared this before but I began dating one of my good friends, Justin (although I don't think we were ever "just friends,"). We spent most of last year getting to know each other and hanging out, and finally in October we began official. Reading that paragraph again, I laugh because I don't think, even in my mind, I've considered Justin to be "a friend," but now he's my best friend so that works out!

This summer, when I'm not nannying (and spending most of the day at another house), hopefully our days will be spent visiting friends and going outside on bike rides and walks. We also really enjoy playing Frisbee, so hopefully we'll do a lot of that as well. We have a couple of Netflix shows to binge, like LOST and Jessica Jones (and Daredevil, but I don't really want to watch that). We also have current shows like Game of Thrones and Mr. Robot, that we will watch once a week, and then wait for what feels like FOREVER for each new episode.

So that's it. I'll be updating more frequently, just so I have somethi